Staff Directory

Vance Manakas
Athletic Director

(805) 378-1480
vmanakas@vcccd.edu

Matt Calfin
Dean of Athletics


Krystle Sanchez
Athletic Eligibility

805-553-4105
ksanchez@vcccd.edu

Kathleen Downes
Athletic Eligibility

805-378-1430
kdownes@vcccd.edu

Leanne Colvin
Administratie Assistant


LColvin@vcccd.edu

Mariel Stegmeir
Athletic Trainer


Adam Black
Women's Volleyball Head Coach

818 620 5523
ablack@vcccd.edu

Ginny Mitchell
Softball Head Coach

805 444 3400
regina_mike1@vcccd.edu

Kai Werring
Women's Soccer Head Coach


Jake Gwin
Men's Soccer Head Coach

818 621 5339
JakeGwin11@aol.com

Terrance Johnson
Football Assistant


Matt Holly
Football Assistant


Nate Turner
Football Assistant


Jason Sabolic
Football Assistant


Kevin Smith
Track/Cross Country Assistant


kevin_smith20@vcccd.edu

Chris Morgan
Men's Basketball Interim Head Coach


christopher_morgan9@vcccd.edu

Tom Vessella
Baseball Assistant


tvessella@vcccd.edu

Ashley Lajoie
Athletic Counselor


ashley_lajoie1@vcccd.edu

Pablo Diaz
Athletic Counselor


pdiaz@vcccd.edu

Vern Vegso
Director of Development

(805)378-1457
vvegso@vcccd.edu

Mario Porto
Head Baseball Coach

(805)378-1457
mporto@vcccd.edu

Brendan Wheeler
Asst. Men's Basketball Coach

(805) 378-1482

Kenny Plummer
Head Women's Basketball Coach

(805) 378-1457
hoopcoachplummer@gmail

Remy McCarthy
Asst. Women's Basketball Coach

(805) 378-1457
rmccarthy@vcccd.edu

Steve Parrot
Asst. Women's Basketball Coach

(805) 378-1457
parrot32@hotmail.com

Traycie Kephart
Head Women's Cross Country Coach

(805) 378-1476
tkephart@vcccd.edu

Michael Stuart
Head Football Coach

(805)378-1457
michael_stuart2@vcccd.edu

Phil McPherson
Assistant Head Football Coach

(805) 378-1457
philamanda@aol.com

John Diaz
Assistant Football Coach (Recruiting)

(805)378-1457
coachdjdiaz@gmail.com

Will Thurston
Head Women's Golf Coach

(805) 378-1564
wthurston@vcccd.edu

Traycie Kephart
Head Track Coach

(805) 378-1476
tkephart@vcccd.edu

Aaron Sharp
Assistant Track Coach


Aaron Hedland
Head Men's Volleyball Coach

(805) 378-1400 x1711
aaron_hedland@vcccd.edu

Cherisse Meichtry
Athletic Trainer

(805) 378-1493
cmeichtry@vcccd.edu

Tom Arellano
Equipment Manager

(805) 378-1479
tarellano@vcccd.edu

Tarek Fattal
Athletic Website

(818) 271-7207
tkfattal22@gmail.com

UCLA Health appreciates the opportunity to support Moorpark College Athletics and work with Vern Vegso to maximize our marketing opportunities. Whether it’s signage, game day opportunities or networking with other sponsors, student athletes and faculty, Vern never fails to find new ways to add value. He’s a pro and a pleasure to work with.

- UCLA Health

On behalf of Stonefire Grill it’s been an extraordinary pleasure and honor to stand in support of Moorpark College Athletics. The depth of relationship Vern Vegso has cultivated with Stonefire Grill, the attention to detail that the Athletic Department brings to the table…has resulted in a win-win situation. Supporting our youth and tomorrow’s leaders through athletics aligns with Stonefire’s culture and commitment.

- Elly Salter, Stonefire Grill, Catering Sales & Marketing

For the past three years, we have been a major athletic sponsor of Moorpark College Athletics and it has been a fantastic experience that has brought our Papa John’s Pizza restaurant many new customers. Vern Vegso has been the instrumental reason for our great relationship with Moorpark College, as he is always looking our for the interest of the school sponsor.

- Taylor Patrick, Papa John’s Pizza franchisee

Wells Fargo is proud to sponsor Moorpark College Athletics. The partnership enables us to support the student athletes’ activities by providing them with tools and resources they need to help stay on financial track. Moorpark Athletics is continually thinking of fresh new ways to deepen Wells Fargo’s engagement with the student and Moorpark community overall.

- Heather J. Hoffman, Marketing Consultant, Wells Fargo Bank

“Moorpark College Athletics is providing an invaluable marketing tool for UCLA Health as we expand our medical practices. Game sponsorships, program advertising and banner signage are building visibility for our brand and awareness of our services. [Moorpark College Athletics] has been an invaluable partner by listening to our needs and responding with opportunities that fulfill our goals and meet our budget.”

- Nickie Bonner, Marketing & Community Outreach Coordinator, UCLA Health

Our Sponsors